Andy Robertson appears to deactivate Twitter account after Liverpool’s 2-0 defeat to Napoli

Andy Robertson appears to have deactivated his Twitter account following Liverpool’s defeat to Napoli in the Champions League.

The left-back conceded a late penalty in Naples as the reigning European champions suffered a 2-0 defeat.

Robertson was adjudged to have fouled Jose Callejon. Many believe Callejon dived, including Jurgen Klopp, but referee Felix Brych pointed to the spot and VAR didn’t deem it a clear and obvious error.

Former Tottenham striker Fernando Llorente then nipped in ahead of Robertson to add a second goal for the hosts in injury time.

Robertson received a barrage of abusive tweets in the wake of his performance and it seems he has now deactivated his account.

The message, ‘This account doesn’t exist’ appears when you try to go on Robertson’s Twitter account, which has the handle @andrewrobertso5.

It’s a shame if Robertson has felt the need to remove his social media account as a result of the tweets aimed his way.

He’s been sensational for Liverpool, developing into one of the finest left-backs in Europe following his arrival at the club in 2017.

And there’s a strong argument that his foul on Callejon should never have been given as a penalty.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*