Liverpool fans have been voting which player deserves to win Player of the Year

Not only is the Premier League trophy almost certainly heading to Anfield, it looks likely the PFA Player of the Year award is too. 

One of the top flight’s most prestigious accolades is usually bestowed on a member of the title-winning side each season. 

Ironically, in the last six years the only players who have broken that rule have belonged to Liverpool: Luis Suarez (2013/14), Mo Salah (2017/18) and Virgil van Dijk (2018/19).

This time around, however, there is no other standout candidate who deserves to be honoured more than any of Jurgen Klopp’s side. 

Choosing will be tough.

Mo Salah is their top scorer with 14, but we can’t reduce the Reds’ success to just goals.

If we could, Sadio Mane would also be in with a shout as the Senegal international has been in the form of his life. 

Meanwhile, Van Dijk has been a verified powerhouse in defence. Whether he’s the world’s best centre-back is no longer even a debate and he’s also flanked by arguably the finest full-backs around in Andy Robertson and Trent Alexander-Arnold. 

What about each player’s wider influence, too? You can’t put a price on Jordan Henderson’s leadership. 

Ultimately, only one of them can win Player of the Year and that means several others are going to be hard-done-by. 

Over at ESPN, Liverpool fans have been voting on who they feel has stood head-and-shoulders above their teammates and there is a clear winner – but not the bookies’ favourite Henderson. 

Over 14,000 people have contributed to the poll and the results look like this: